Dr. Arup Ratan Dutta Nephrologist in Kolkata

Dr. Arup Ratan Dutta

Nephrologist, Kolkata


  • 3 Hospitals
  • 39 Years Experience


  • Dr. Arup Ratan Dutta is a renowned physician in the field of Nephrology, Dialysis and Transplantation. He has more than 20years of experience and is currently the Chief Nephrologist at Fortis Hospitals, Kolkata
  • Led the Nephrology Department to glory and currently undertakes 900 dialysis per month on an average
  • Achieved excellent results in kidney transplantation comparable with international standards.
  • Large experience in spousal donor transplantation and Induction immunosuppression
  • Dr. Dutta performed Continuous Renal Replacement Therapy techniques (CAVH, CAVHD,CVVHD) and Plasmapheresis for the first time in Kolkata.


  • Nephrology


  • Plasmapheresis


  • CRRT
  • Plasmapheresis
  • Renal (Kidney) Transplant
  • Renal Failure


  • MBBS from Calcutta University, 1982
  • MD from PGIMER, Chandigarh, 1986    
  • DM (Nephrology) from PGIMER, Chandigarh, 1989

Practice Information

Fortis Hospital & Kidney Institute (FHKI), Kolkata

Fortis Hospital & Kidney Institute (FHKI), Kolkata

111A, Rash Behari Avenue, Kolkata, West Bengal - 700029


01:00 PM - 04:00 PM


02:30 PM - 05:30 PM

Fortis Hospitals, Kolkata

Fortis Hospitals, Kolkata

#730, EM Bypass Road, Anandapur, Kolkata, West Bengal - 700107

GD Hospital & Diabetes Institute, Kolkata

GD Hospital & Diabetes Institute, Kolkata

139 A, Lenin Sarani, Kolkata, West Bengal - 700013

Achievements & Contributions

  • Young Asia Investigator Award” in 1992 at Seoul, South Korea and the “Visiting Fellowship Award” from Toronto Western Hospital in 1998.
  • Gold Medal for being first in the Final MBBS examination of Calcutta University. 
  • He was also the recipient of the prestigious Jagadish Chandra Bose National Science Talent Search Scholarship in 1975.
  • He has held the several positions in the Indian Society of Nephrology (ISN) including that of Scientific Committee member and Zonal representative and Secretary of the Eastern Zone.
  • He is one of the founder members of the Peritoneal Dialysis society of India (PDSI) and its President from 2008 – 2010.