Sree Chitra Tirunal Institute for Medical Sciences & Technology (SCTIMST) Thiruvananthapuram

Sree Chitra Tirunal Institute for Medical Sciences & Technology (SCTIMST), Thiruvananthapuram

Thiruvananthapuram, Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala - 695011

  • 9 Specialities
  • 19 Doctors


The Sree Chitra Tirunal
Institute for Medical Sciences & Technology (SCTIMST) which was established
in 1973 is an institute of national importance. The institute located in
Thiruvananthapuram in the state of Kerala was created for the benefit of the
people of Kerala with the funds and assets of the Maharajah Sree Chithira
Thirunal Balarama Varma of Travancore. 

The Institute consists
of three wings - the Hospital Wing, Biomedical Technology Wing, and the Achutha
Menon Centre for Health Science Studies. The institute was started with the
vision of becoming a global leader in medical devices development, high quality
patient care, and health sciences studies by 2020.

The Neurology Department at Sree Chitra Tirunal Institute
for Medical Sciences & Technology is one of the best departments in the
region. The department consists of the following sub-specialties: Cognition
& Behavioral Neurology, 
Comprehensive Care Centre for Movement Disorders,  Comprehensive Center for Sleep Disorders,  Comprehensive Stroke Care Center, and  R Madhavan Nayar Center for Comprehensive
Epilepsy Care.

The neurosurgery department has been recognized as a  premier neurosurgical referral centre for
cerebellopontine angle lesions especially for vestibular schwannomas.
Functional and stereotactic neurosurgery started here with surgery for
Parkinson's disease and other movement disorders. The present specializations
include spinal instrumentation, surgery for stroke and minimally invasive
neurosurgery. The department is an accredited centre for skull base surgery
training by the World Federation of Neurological surgery.


  • Anesthesiology
  • Bio-Chemistry
  • Cardiology
  • Cardiothoracic Surgery
  • Cardiovascular Surgery
  • Micro-Biology
  • Neurology
  • Neurosurgery
  • Radiology


  • 256 Slice Ct Scaner(philips Brilliance 256 Slice)
  • Magnetic Resonance Imaging (siements Avanto 1.5t)
  • Digital Subtraction Angiography (ge Innova 4100 Biplane)
  • Ultrasound System - Philips Iu22
  • Pacs (picture Archiving And Communication System) - Agfa Impax
  • Radiofrequency Ablation - Celon Power

Doctors List

Name Speciality View Profile
Dr. Jagan Mohan Tharakan Cardiology
Dr.V.K. Ajit Kumar Cardiology
Dr.S. Sivasankaran Cardiology
Dr.K.M. Krishnamoorthy Cardiology
Dr.S. Harikrishnan Cardiology
Dr.K.K. Narayanan Namboodiri Cardiology
Dr.S. Bijulal Cardiology
Dr.T. Anees Cardiology
Dr.G. Sanjay Cardiology
Dr. Thomas Titus Cardiology
Dr.Prof. K. Jayakumar Cardiac Surgery
Dr.R. Sankar Kumar Cardiology
Dr. Baiju S. Dharan Cardiothoracic Surgery
Dr. Vivek V. Pillai Cardiothoracic Surgery
Dr. Vargheese T.Panicker Cardiothoracic Surgery
Dr.K.R. Thankappan Gastroenterology
Dr.R. Aniraj Plastic & Reconstructive Surgery
Dr. Thomas Mathew Pediatric Cardiac Surgery
Dr.S.P. Abhilash Cardiology

Awards & Contributions