Madras Medical College and Government General Hospital Chennai,

Madras Medical College and Government General Hospital, Chennai

Park Town, Opp Central Railway Station, E.V.R Periyar Salai, Chennai, Tamil Nadu - 600003

  • 29 Specialities
  • 9 Doctors


The Government General Hospital, officially named Rajiv Gandhi Government General Hospital, is a major state government owned hospital situated in Chennai, India. The hospital with 3,000 beds is funded and managed entirely by the state government of Tamil Nadu. The hospital was originally founded in 1664 by the British East India Company.

The Department of Neurology at the Government General Hospital is one of the best departments in the region. The sub-specialties of Neuroradiology, Neuroanesthesia, Neuropathology, Neurochemistry, EEG and clinical Neurophysiology, Neuro-ophthalmology, Clinical Psychology, Speech Therapy and physiotherapy cater to the needs of both out-patient and in-patients. Special out-patient clinics are run for cases of Epilepsy, Headache and Movement Disorder.  The department has excellent facilities for all types of neurosurgeries, including skull base operation, micro-neurosurgical operation, and other latest techniques.


  • Anesthesiology
  • Bio-Chemistry
  • Cardiology
  • Community Medicine
  • Dermatology (Skin)
  • Diabetology
  • Endocrinology
  • ENT (Otolaryngology)
  • Forensic Medicine
  • Gastroenterology
  • General Medicine
  • Genetics
  • Hematology
  • Hepatology
  • Medical Oncology
  • Micro-Biology
  • Neurology
  • Neurosurgery
  • Orthopedic Surgery
  • Pathology
  • Physiology
  • Plastic Surgery
  • Psychiatry
  • Radiation Oncology
  • Radio-Diagnosis
  • Rheumatology
  • Surgical Gastroenterology
  • Vascular Surgery
  • Venereology


  • Casualty services
  • Modern operation theatres
  • Central laboratories
  • Pharmacy          

Doctors List

Name Speciality View Profile
Dr.N. Sritharan Vascular Surgery
Dr.M. Jawahar Neurology
Dr. Ramanathan Sathianathan Psychiatry
Dr.S. Shanmuga Kumar Radiation Oncology
Dr.M.A. Narayanaswamy Anesthesiology
Dr. Sakthi Rajan Nephrology
Dr.A.S. Natarajan Pulmonology
Dr.A. Sundararaja Perumal Pulmonology
Dr.C. Shanmugavelayutham Vascular Surgery


Write a Review

Quality of Care: Your rating of the quality of care you received

Staff: Your rating of the friendliness, knowledgeability and helpfulness of the staff

Facility: Your rating of the quality and cleanliness of the facility

Promptness: Your rating of how quickly your care was given once at the facility

Overall rating: Your overall rating, when taking all measures into consideration