Sankara Nethralaya Main Hospital Chennai

Sankara Nethralaya Main Hospital, Chennai

18, College Road, Nungambakkam, Chennai, Tamil Nadu - 600006

  • 3 Specialities
  • 57 Doctors


Sankara Netralaya is a not-for-profit charitable hospital that was started with the idea of providing tertiary eye care to the people in the country. The hospital, which was started in 1978, has more than 80 eye care professionals who examine about 1500 patients and perform around 125 surgeries every day.

Sankara Nethralaya lays a very strong emphasis on community service and one of the initiatives includes eye camps in rural areas and free surgeries to those with income of less than Rs 3500 per month. About 50 % of the Out-Patient Department and 35 % of the surgeries are done free of cost to the underprivileged.

Sankara Nethralaya which offers both outpatient and inpatient services has a dedicated team of specialist ophthalmologists, nursing staff, administrative staff and support staff who ensure that all patients receive the best treatment. Sankara Nethralaya has various sub specialties such as cataract, cornea, glaucoma, neuro-ophthalmology, squint and pediatric ophthalmology, retina, uvea, oculoplasty, ocular oncology and refractive surgery. 

The Sankara Nethralaya Academy is the academic wing of Sankara Nethralaya which offers various types of educational programs ranging from certificate to doctoral level programs in various fields related to allied health sciences.


  • Neuro Ophthalmology
  • Ophthalmology
  • Pediatric Ophthalmology


  • Eye Bank
  • Pharmacy
  • Corneal Diseases
  • Glaucoma
  • Retinal Diseases And Uveitis
  • Squint And Related Disorders


  • Mon - Sun: 08:00am - 10:00pm

Doctors List

Name Speciality View Profile
Dr. Aditya Verma Ophthalmology
Dr. Amala Elizabeth George Ophthalmology
Dr.K.C. Anand Ophthalmology
Dr. Animesh Sahu Ophthalmology
Dr. Bhaskar Srinivasan Ophthalmology
Dr. Bipasha Mukherjee Ophthalmology
Dr. Jyotirmay Biswas Ophthalmology
Dr. Debmalya Das Ophthalmology
Dr. Dhanashree Ratra Ophthalmology
Dr.S. Durga Priyadarshini Neuro Ophthalmology
Dr. Eesh Nigam Ophthalmology
Dr. Ekta Rishi Ophthalmology
Dr. Gajendra Kumar Verma Ophthalmology
Dr. Ian Sundararaj Anesthesiology
Dr. Iyer Geetha Krishnan Ophthalmology
Dr. Jaydeep Avinash Walinjkar Ophthalmology
Dr. Jeyalakshmi Govindan Ophthalmology
Dr.N. Kavitha Kalaivani Pediatric Ophthalmology
Dr. Mamta Agarwal Ophthalmology
Dr. Manish Panday Ophthalmology